IndyCar – Grid Set for Finale!

DarioThe field is set for the 2009 season finale in Homestead and Dario has secured pole position. The pole position has moved one point closer to championship leader Scott Dixon in what promises to be an excellent race. The stands were packed with fans waiting to see who would take the valuable one point in a championship that is now closer than ever.

Dario Franchitti drew an early qualifying slot, but was able to set a blistering spped of 212.696mph over a four lap run. Dixon will slot in at second as Ryan Briscoe will start third. This is exactly what we thought would happen as the full might of technology and money is now put into these three cars as each chases the championship. Currently 4 points is all that seperates Dario and Dixon as we head into the final race of the year. Ed Carpenter put the Vision Racing machine in fourth and the NHL boys put in a great oval effort that hopefully equates to a strong finish during the race. Alex Lloyd has to be feeling good in his first run in the NHL car and is already showing his worth over former driver Robert Doornbos. Below are the results from the time trails and all that is left is to go racing!

1. Dario Franchitti Ganassi 212.696
2. Scott Dixon Ganassi 212.160
3. Ryan Briscoe Penske 212.137
4. Ed Carpenter Vision 211.769
5. Alex Lloyd Newman/Haas/Lanigan 211.702
6. Graham Rahal Newman/Haas/Lanigan 211.653
7. Danica Patrick Andretti Green 211.258
8. Marco Andretti Andretti Green 210.884
9. Raphael Matos Luczo Dragon 210.834
10. Mario Moraes KV 210.819
11. Helio Castroneves Penske 210.658
12. Tomas Scheckter Dreyer & Reinbold 210.453
13. Justin Wilson Coyne 210.420
14. Dan Wheldon Panther 210.407
15. Tony Kanaan Andretti Green 210.315
16. Sarah Fisher Fisher 210.174
17. Milka Duno Dreyer & Reinbold 210.020
18. EJ Viso HVM 209.773
19. Hideki Mutoh Andretti Green 209.623
20. Mike Conway Dreyer & Reinbold 208.971
21. Ryan Hunter-Reay Foyt 208.536
22. Robert Doornbos HVM 207.352
23. Jaques Lazier 3G 205.606

Related posts