Grand-Am—Ganassi Announces Rolex 24, Season Plans

This morning, Chip Ganassi Racing announced both their plans for the 2013 season as well as the Rolex 24 at Daytona. Returning to the 01 Telmex BMW-Riley are Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, who are making a run at their fourth consecutive Grand-Am Rolex Series Daytona Prototype championship. Pruett and Rojas have essentially been on top of the DP Series since 2008, only missing out on the championship in 2009 to the Alex Gurney/Jon Fogarty duo at Gainsco/Stallings Racing. Pruett has five DP Series championships while his co-driver Memo Rojas holds four titles. Jorg Bergmeister is responsible for Ganassi’s sisth DP Championship in 2006.

Joining Pruett and Rojas in the #01 car at Daytona are Ganassi Racing drivers Juan Pablo Montoya and Charlie Kimball. Montoya drives for the Ganassi/Dale Earnhardt Inc NASCAR Sprint Cup Series entry. The 37 year old Columbian is the 1999 CART champion, 2000 Indianapolis 500 winner, and 2007-2008 Rolex 24 at Daytona winner. Charlie Kimball drives for Chip Ganassi Racing Teams in the #83 NovoNordisk Dallara-Honda in the IZOD Indycar Series. Charlie is a veteran of Firestone indyLights, A1GP, Formula 3 Euro Series, Formula Renault 3.5  and Formula Ford.

Joining them in a second Ganassi Racing Daytona Prototype are IZOD Indycar Series teammates Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon. Also joining them in the #02 BMW-Riley are NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Jamie McMurray and DTM series driver Joey Hand.

The 2013 Rolex24 at Daytona is January 26-27 at Daytona International Speedway.

Related posts