USF2000 – Spencer Pigot Wins Team USA Scholarship

Andretti Autosport’s Spencer Pigot, driver of their #8 Cooper Tires Presents the US F2000 National Championship Powered by Mazda entry, was selected as winner of the Team USA Scholarship and will take part in the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch and will have a chance to compete for the prestigious Walter Hayes Trophy. Pigot earned the honor thanks to his strong performance in his rookie USF2000 efforts, coming in 2nd in the championship to Petri Suvanto.

“Being selected for Team USA for a second year is a great honor and I’m really looking forward to going back to England. I learned a lot with my time there last year and it has helped me this season in USF2000. I’m certain I will learn even more this year and with the experience I gained in 2010 I know what to expect. I have to thank everyone that is involved in the Team USA Scholarship for giving me this opportunity.” — Spencer Pigot, #8 Andretti Autosport

no images were found

“Spencer is a true talent in our sport. From the moment we put him in the USF2000 car, I knew he was going to shine. Earning this award just proves he has what it takes to get to the top, and I’m really excited for him to have the opportunity to compete in England next month.” — Michael Andretti, President, Chairman, and CEO of Andretti Autosport

Many other great young American drivers were nominated including his teammate Zach Veach. You can check out all of the nominees at Junior Open Wheel Talent. Ryan has done an outstanding job in providing excellent summaries of this year’s nominees.

Pigot Selected as Team USA Scholarship Winner

INDIANAPOLIS (Sept. 6, 2011) – Andretti Autosport driver Spencer Pigot has been selected as a winner of the 22nd annual Team USA Scholarship. As part of the program, Pigot will compete in the premier Duratec class at the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch in Kent, England on Oct. 15 and 16. He was also awarded the opportunity to drive in the final round of the MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain at Silverstone on Oct. 8 and 9.

Pigot and his teammate, fellow Team USA Scholarship nominee Zach Veach, made up Andretti Autosport’s 2011 two-entry Cooper Tires Presents the USF2000 National Championship Powered by Mazda effort. Pigot’s rookie USF2000 season wrapped up on Sunday in Baltimore, with Pigot earning his third race win of the season and finishing second in championship points. Pigot and Veach also helped Andretti Autosport capture its second consecutive team championship in the series.

The Team USA Scholarship was founded in 1990 by well-known auto racing writer and broadcaster Jeremy Shaw in order to provide opportunities for young American race car drivers from both funding and mentoring aspects. Former winners of the award include Jimmy Vasser, Bryan Herta, Buddy Rice, A.J. Allmendinger, Joey Hand, Andy Lally, Bryan Sellers, Charlie Kimball and J.R. Hildebrand.

Pigot, the 17-year-old California native who currently resides in Windermere, Fla., was named a Team USA Scholarship winner in 2010 and competed in the Formula Ford Festival as part of the program, qualifying on pole for his heat, finishing fourth in the final, and setting the fastest race lap.

For more information on the Team USA Scholarship program, please visit For more information on Pigot, visit

Related posts