FIA Endurance Championship Official

Photo RjEPhotos

More details of the 2012 FIA World Endurance Championship were shared today during an ACO   press conference at Le Mans. ACO President Jean-Claude Plassart and FIA President Jean Todt presented the main championships guidelines during.

As recently reported on the new Championship series will mirror the current ILMC series. There will be six races plus Le Mans. Two will be in North America, most likely at Sebring and Petit Le Mans at the Road Atlanta circuit. Two will be in Europe in addition to Le Mans, and two races in Asia. Each event will be a minimum six hours. The final calendar will be released by the FIA in the fall.

A Manufacturers’ World Endurance Championship and Drivers’ World Endurance Champion titles will awarded, along with GTE World Cup (Endurance Grand Touring) Pro, FIA LMP2 Trophy, FIA GTE-Am Trophy and FIA Trophy for best private team. Points will be awarded as the same as other FIA World Championships,  with 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 being awarded to the top 10 finishers, except double points will be awarded in each class at Le Mans.

The ACO will be the promoter of the FIA World Endurance Championship and, at least through 2013, will govern sporting and technical regulations. The initial contract is for three years. When it expires the plan is for a 10 year contract between the two governing bodies. FIA president Jean Todt confirmed an endurance working group would also be set up. The group will include representatives of the ACO, the FIA, manufacturers, and private teams.

Information Provided by ACO & FIA Press Release

Related posts

One Thought to “FIA Endurance Championship Official

  1. An FIA Endurance Working Group? …I fear for the future of sports car racing. We’ve seen how well those working groups work in Formula 1. #FAIL

Comments are closed.